2019 marks the 40th anniversary of Manitoba Beef Producers.

The group held its AGM this week in Brandon. The theme this year was 'Proud Past, Promising Future'.

"I think we're very proud of our past," said General Manager Brian Lemon. "Generally the AGM is a place where producers can show some optimism for the future and be a little bit upbeat about where their industry is going to be this time next year."

Tom Teichroeb of Langruth, MB will remain on as president for another term. Kris Kristjanson (District 12) is first vice-president, while Dianne Riding (District 9) is second vice-president. Peter Penner (District 3) will serve as treasurer and Mike Dugiud (District 10) is secretary.

The Hodgins Family of Lenore, MB picked up this year's Environmental Stewardship Award (TESA) sponsored by MNP, while Martin Unrau of MacGregor, MB was presented with the group's second-ever Lifetime Achievement Award.

Former Federal Agriculture Minister Gerry Ritz was the keynote speaker at the banquet held Thursday night.

mbp lifetime 2019 submitted(L-R) Martin Unrau with MBP President Tom Teichroeb

MBP TESA 2019 SUBMITTED 2(L-R) MNP’s Pam Miller, MBP Director Jade Delaurier, Cameron and Lisa Hodgins


More Ag News

Thailand Company To Purchase HyLife

Thailand's biggest agriculture conglomerate Charoen Pokphand Foods Pcl (CPF) has stated that it will acquire Manitoba-based pork producer HyLife for $498 million dollars. The deal would give CPF a…

Chinese Pork Production Down Significantly

Chinese pork production has dropped significantly due to the spread of African swine fever. Tyler Fulton is the director of risk management with Hams Marketing Services. "Chinese sources [have been]…

MFGA's Green Gold Program Launches 24th Year

The Manitoba Forage and Grasslands Association (MFGA) is launching Year 24 of its Green Gold alfalfa-monitoring program. 'Hay Day' is the best cut date when harvested pure alfalfa stands are at…

Manitoba Pork 2019 AGM Highlights

Elections The Manitoba Pork Board of Directors elected its 2019 executive for a one-year term: George Matheson, from the Stonewall area, was re-elected Chairman; Rick Bergmann of Mitchell was…

New Dairy Partnership Formed

A new partnership in the dairy industry is set to come into effect on June 3, 2019. CanWest DHI, Valacta and Canadian Dairy Network have come together to form a new organization known as Lactanet…

2019-20 Crop Acres Still A Mystery

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) says for 2019-20, the area seeded by province by crop in Canada is a major uncertainty. Across Eastern and Western Canada, moisture conditions remain below…

PembinaValleyOnline.com is your only local source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.