The Winkler Flyers wrap up their four-game exhibition schedule this afternoon (2 p.m.) when they face the Steelers in Selkirk. Winkler defeated the Steelers 7-4 Wednesday at the Meridian Exhibition Centre. The Flyers open the 2023-24 Manitoba Junior Hockey League season Friday, September 22nd at home against the Winnipeg Blues.

Zander Carels scored twice as the Pembina Valley Twisters downed the Fort Garry/Fort Rouge Twins 4-1 in Morris. Derek Wiebe and Lucas Jolicour also scored for the Twisters who play their final pre-season game Sunday against the Twins at the Century Arena in Winnipeg.

Jaxon Jacobson had two goals and three assists and Nicholas Jones made 21 saves in the Brandon Wheat Kings 9-1 win over the Moose Jaw Warriors at Westoba Place. Easton Odut also scored twice for Brandon while the rest went to Tre Fouquette, Caleb Hadland, Rylen Roersma and Roger McQueen. The Wheat Kings wrap up their pre-season schedule tonight with a rematch against the Warriors in Moose Jaw.

The Winnipeg Jets prospects dropped a 3-1 decision to the Edmonton Oilers Friday night at the 2023 Young Stars Classic in Penticton. Winnipeg goaltender Domenic DiVincentiis stopped 33 of the 36 shots he faced. Connor Levis had the lone goal for the Jets who take on the Vancouver Canucks on Sunday and the Calgary Flames on Monday.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers face the Hamilton Tiger-Cats today (3 p.m.) in the CFL’s Hall of Fame Game at Tim Hortons Field. The Blue Bombers have made two roster moves. Defensive end Celestin Haba and defensive tackle Tanner Schmekel are on the game day roster in place of defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat and receiver Jeremy Murphy. The Bombers are 10-3 and have clinched a playoff spot.

Kristian Hammerback of Winnipeg finished in a tie for 28th place with 52 points in the men’s net stableford division at the 2023 Canadian All Abilities Championship in Kamloops, British Columbia. Patrick Griffin of Leduc, Alberta won the men’s net stableford with 83 points. Tess Trojan of St. Catharines, Ontario took the women’s net stableford. Chris Willis of Aurora, Ontario captured the men’s gross stroke play championship. Natasha Stasiuk of Oakville, Ontario won the women’s division. The third playing of the national championship was contested as a 36-hole competition and features players with neurological, intellectual, sensory, and physical impairments.