The Garden Valley Zodiacs and Miami Marlins are Provincial Junior Varsity volleyball champions. The Zodiacs defeated the Linden Christian Wings 22-25, 25-23, 17-15 in the AAA boys final at Balmoral Hall. GVC middle Alfredo Enns was named the tournament MVP. Noah Vandenberg and Isaak Buhler of the Zodiacs were All-Stars. Miami swept the Carberry Cougars 25-17, 25-21 in the A/AA boys final in The Pas. Marlins setter Luke Swain was the tournament MVP and Max Koscienly and Liam Dyck were All-Stars. Four Zone 4 teams played in Provincial finals on Saturday. Miller lost to Neelin in the AAA girls final in Winnipeg. The Spartans beat the Aces 19-25, 25-11, 15-7. Miller’s Kate Sawatsky and Isabella Peters were All-Stars. Rosenort fell to Warren in the A/AA girls final in Flin Flon. The Wildcats swept the Redhawks 25-22, 25-17. Rosenort’s Jenna Falk and Willow Murray were named All-Stars.

The Morden Bombers, Portage Islanders and Ste. Anne Aces were winners in the South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League. Jay Fehr had two goals and two assists as the Bombers beat the Altona Maroons 5-1. Linden McCorrister had three goals and three assists as the Islanders won their first game of the season 11-5 over the Carman Beavers. Miguel Rondeau had a hat trick as the defending champion Aces downed the Notre Dame Hawks 6-1 and improved to 5-0 on the season.

The Pembina Valley Hawks dropped a 5-4 decision to the Norman Northstars in Thompson. Tyler Wamboldt scored the only goal the shootout for the Northstars. Kam Thomas, Haiden Friesen, Lane Apperley and Liam Goertzen scored in regulation for the Hawks who led 4-2 after forty minutes.

The Brandon Wheat Kings lost 2-0 to Red Deer. The Rebels did their scoring in the final minute of regulation. Ollie Josephson scored at 19:40 of the third period and Kai Uchacz added an empty-netter eight second later. Brandon netminder Ethan Eskit made 29 saves.

Dan Sherrard of Alberta and Abby Burgess of New Brunswick won the Canadian Curling Club Championship at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Sherrard defeated Mitch Citron of Saskatchewan 7-2 in the men’s gold medal game. Burgess outscored Lindsay Thorne of Ontario 8-7 in the women’s gold medal game. It’s the third National championship for Sherrard who also won in 2012 & 2013.