It’s day one of the Provincial Junior Varsity High School Volleyball Championships. Miller girls and Garden Valley boys are the AAA championships in Winnipeg. Rosenort and St. Paul’s of Elie are at the A/A girls championship in Flin Flon. Morris and Miami are the A/AA boys championship in The Pas.

The Garden Valley Zodiacs and Mountain Mustangs were winners in the Zone 4 High School Hockey League Wednesday night. Alfredo Enns and Philip Franz each had a goal and an assist as Garden Valley downed Morris 5-3. Regan Froese, Jordan Holomay and Ketema Wall also scored for the Zodiacs. Logan Dearborn, Cedric Gosselin and Justin Lavack replied for the Mavericks who suffered their first loss after opening the season with five straight wins. Miguel Bazin made 17 saves as Mountain edged Pembina 2-1. Gavin Rondeau and Matthew Voth did the goal scoring for the Mustangs. Max Jago had the lone goal for the Tigers.

The Winkler Flyers were shutout for the first time this season. Jayden Catellier stopped all 29 shots he faced as the Portage Terriers blanked the Flyers 4-0 at the Centennial Arena.

Braden Purtill scored twice and Brenden Walker had a goal and three helpers as the defending South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League champion Ste. Anne Aces downed Winkler 7-3. Caleb Paisley, Miguel Rondeau, Zac Cumming and Burke Heide also scored for the Aces. Jamie Thiessen, Cam McNabb and Marlin Froese replied for the Royals. The game was scoreless after the first period. Ste. Anne led 5-2 after forty minutes.

The Brandon Wheat Kings opened their four-game road trip with a 5-3 victory over the Oil Kings in Edmonton. Nate Danielson and Charlie Elick scored two goals each for the Wheat Kings. Nolan Flamand had the other Brandon goal.

Adam Lowry scored 1:39 into overtime to lift Winnipeg past the Tampa Bay Lightning 3-2. Josh Morrissey and Mark Scheifele also scored for the Jets who have won four in a row.

The Manitoba Moose gave up three goals in the first period and three more in the second and lost 6-2 to the Rockford IceHogs. Nikita Chibrikov had both goals for the Moose.

Derrick Anderson has a 3-2 round robin record and Kara Balshaw is 2-3 at the Canadian Curling Club Championship at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg.