Klim Georgiev scored the go-ahead marker six minutes into the second period and the Kings added three more goals in the final frame and beat the Pistons 5-1 Saturday night in Steinbach. Nick Braun and Jayden Harris potted third period power play goals for Dauphin. Cordell Coleman and Logan Calder also scored for the Kings who evened the Manitoba Junior Hockey League’s best-of-seven final at a game a piece. Braden Birnie’s power play goal 47 seconds into the second period tied the game at 1-1. Dauphin netminder Carson Cherepak stopped 27 of 28 shots while Steinbach’s Simon Harkness made 24 saves. The series now shifts to Credit Union Place for games three and four Tuesday and Wednesday.

The host Southwest Cougars will meet the Saskatchewan U18 AAA Hockey League champion Notre Dame Hounds today (2 p.m.) in the final of the Telus Cup West Regional Championship in Virden. The round robin wrapped up Saturday. Owen LaRocque stopped all 40 shots he faced as Southwest shutout the Manitoba champion Winnipeg Wild 3-0. Notre Dame defeated the Thunder Bay Kings 8-3. The Hounds finished the round robin with a 3-0 record; the Cougars were 1-1-1; the Wild and Kings were 1-2.

Mikey Eyssimont had a hat trick and Mikhail Berdin made 20 saves as the Manitoba Moose won their regular season finale 6-0 over the Abbotsford Canucks at Canada Life Centre. Haralds Egle, Kristian Vesalainen and Nicholas Jones also scored for the Moose who finished in second place in the American Hockey League’s Central Division with a 41-24-5-2 record. Manitoba will meet the Milwaukee Admirals in the opening round of the Calder Cup playoffs. Game one is Friday, May 6th in Milwaukee.

Marie Wright of Moose Jaw & Jamie Answeeuw of Winnipeg had a win and a loss on day one of the World Wheelchair Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Lohja, Finland. Wright & Answeeuw defeated Polina Rozkova & Agris Lasman of Latvia 8-4 and then fell 6-4 to Christiane Putzich & Burkhard Moeller of Germany.

It’s day one of the Canadian U18 Curling Championships in Oakville. Manitoba champions Jordon McDonald and Zoey Terrick as well as provincial finalists Ryan Ostrowsky and Grace Beaudry are competing in Ontario.